This guide assumes you have already created a new Form Template using an Editable Workflow, and that you have designed the journey the Form will take in the Workflow tab. Please see the Use an Editable Workflow when creating a Form Template guide if you need assistance with this.
By default, the first time you click on the Workflow tab after designing your Form Template, every Field you have added within the Layout tab will appear as a separate tile in the first Stage of the Workflow.
Fields can be moved or copied so that they are available in multiple stages.
If a field appears in a Stage, it means the Owner of that Stage, as well as any Contributors, will be able to edit that particular field when the Form is assigned to them.
If a field does not appear in a Stage, it means that it won't be editable by the Owner of that Stage (or any Contributors) when the Form is assigned to them.
If and where a field appears in the Workflow tab has nothing to do with its visibility - this continues to be set as an option within the field itself whilst in the Layout tab.
Moving a field
To move an individual field from one Stage to another, simply drag and drop the field into the desired Stage.
In the example below, we are moving fields which involve the Line Manager to verify information about the Assignee into a Stage owned by the Line Manager.
You can select multiple fields to move at once by clicking Select Fields and then selecting the fields you would like to move. When you have selected all the fields, drag and drop any of the selected fields into the desired stage. As you drag, a number will indicate how many fields you are moving at once.
This method will remove the field(s) from the original Stage. If you want the field(s) to be available to edit in both Stages, use the Copying a field method below.
Copying a field
If a field needs to be editable in multiple Stages, it will need to be copied into the additional Stages.
To copy a field, click the Copy icon in the top right-hand corner of the tile. A popup will open - select the Stage to add the copied field to and click Create Copy.
You can copy all fields within a Stage at once by clicking the three dots menu and clicking Copy all fields. A popup will open - select the Stage to add the copied fields to and click Create Copy.
The field(s) will now appear in both Stages and will be editable by both Stage Owners (and any Contributors).
Continue to copy the field(s) into additional stages if required.
Deleting a field
Click the rubbish bin icon in the top right-hand corner of the tile to delete a copied field.
You cannot delete a field if it only appears in one Stage. If you no longer want the field to appear on the Form Template, go back to the Layout tab and delete it from the relevant Section.