When a Form which contains validation is being completed, fields which have met the validation requirements will be indicated by a green tick. If they have not met validation requirements (or the field has not yet been completed) a red exclamation point icon will show next to the field.
If any of the fields in the Form template are not successfully validated during the Assignee's Stage of the workflow (where the Owner is the Assignee), the Assignee will be notified in the sign-off section which Field does not meet the necessary criteria to pass validation. They can review and update the field to correct if they have made an error.
However, any Personal Custom Fields set to Pull mode will automatically populate data held within the LMS about the User, so these fields cannot be edited.
If the User is not able to enter data that meets validation, they will be prompted to withdraw the form and provide a reason for doing so.
If any of the fields are not successfully validated at a Stage of the workflow where the Owner is anything other that the Assignee, the Stage Owner will be notified in the sign-off section allowing the Owner to review the field or reject the form, providing a reason for doing so.
The Form will not progress any further through the workflow once withdrawn/rejected and the Status of the Form will be Failed. The Completion Status of the form will be Completed.
Super Administrators are able to set at the Form Template level who will receive an email notification if the Form is withdrawn or rejected. See this guide for further details.
Once a Form has been withdrawn or rejected, the Assignee or relevant User will need to address the areas of the Form which did not pass validation. Once this has been done, a new Form Activity will need to be created and the Assignee will need to be registered onto this so they can work through the Form again.
Alternatively, if any fields do not meet validation when the Form is in progress, instead of withdrawing or rejecting the Form it can be left open whilst any data is updated. When the Form is next launched, providing all validation criteria has now been met, the Form can progress through the workflow as normal.